Annual Family History Awards

Have you completed a project that preserves your family history, adds to the body of historical knowledge for a certain locale, or that helps others with their research?  The Commission annually presents awards for the best examples submitted in the following categories:

·        Family History Book Award

·        Regional History Book Award

·        Historical Preservation Award

·        Advancing Genealogical Skills Award

·        Creating Genealogical Sources Award

·        Family History Youth Award (under age 19)

Each Award has unique requirements outlined on the separate pages linked above.  The requirements and policies applicable to all submissions include:


1.   By August 1, entries must be received by HEC with a completed entry form. (See the link at the bottom of this page.) The entry form clarifies copyright ownership issues and defines the terms and conditions under which a winning entry is donated to the HEC.  Address:  Heritage Education Commission, PO Box 292, Moorhead, MN 56561-0292  


2.   Submissions will be considered when the author is from our region or the material is pertinent to our region.  “Our region” includes the states of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and the Province of Manitoba.


3.   Winners are announced during the luncheon at the annual all-day HEC

Workshop at the end of September.  Winners are not required to be present.


4.   You are agreeing to donate a copy of your work to HEC.  [Do not submit your only copy.]  Winners’ items are displayed during the annual Workshop and then are placed in the Archives of the Northwest Minnesota Historical Center at Minnesota State University at Moorhead (MSUM) and possibly on the HEC web site.


5.   Only one award is given per category.  Judges may also award honorable mentions for submissions of high quality and place those items in the Archives so they can be used by other researchers.


6.   All sources/data must be carefully documented.  All copyrighted

material must include a statement indicating copyright owner’s permission to

republish.  If there are any questions, please contact


7.   Judges reserve the right to withhold an award for any particular year.


Click here to view and print the entry form.


Last Updated March 10, 2020